Learn, Lead, Listen

I have been a leader of learning in the same kura for almost ten years and as I move through the final weeks of in this privileged position I am reflecting more and more about the things I still want to achieve, the things I am proud of achieving and the relationships I have established with the amazing community I am part of.

I switch daily between celebrating, reminiscing and demonising the place I am in. I am also excited about my new lead learner role and I move with trepidation. While all the time acknowledging the imposter complex. Do women actually suffer from this more than men? 

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/women/work/imposter-syndrome-why-do-so-many-women-feel-like-frauds/

Underneath it all I know the stars have aligned and I am poised and ready to leap into an amazing new opportunity, one that doesn’t come along often in Otautahi anyway. To be a foundation member of staff at a newly built school.

He aha te mea nui o te ao? He tangata, He tangata, He tangata! As the well known whakatauki goes… What is the most important thing in the world? It is people. This will be what I will take to my new role as it is people and relationships which are the key to an effective learning partnership. I acknowledge those who have gone before me, those who walk beside me and those who will follow long after I am gone. 

Aroha, manaakitanga and patience will guide me as I embark on this new chapter of leading, learning and listening. 

Leave a Reply

